What is the difference between Thailand eVisa and visa on arrival?

All citizens from non visa-exempt countries need a Thai tourist visa on arrival to gain entry to Thailand. Travelers from 21 countries can also obtain a visa on arrival by queuing up and applying for one at the Thai border.

The Thailand e-Visa has been designed to modernize this process by giving travelers the alternative to obtain an electronic visa which is obtained by completing a quick and simple application.

Citizens from eligible countries can skip the process of queuing at the Thai border by presenting their e-Visa for Thailand upon entry, along with their passport.

The eVisa will be available in 2019. Chinese citizens will be the first eligible nationality (from February 15), followed by the British (from March 1), and the French (from April 1). In 2019, the Thai Government is expected to announce further countries that will be added to the list of eligible countries for Thailand eVisa application.