Thailand Visa Requirements

Thai eVisa requirements and entry documents to Thailand

In order to be able to apply for a Thailand visa, applicants should check that their nationality enables them to apply for a Thailand visa online, as not all countries are currently able to obtain a Thai visa electronically.

The eVisa will launch in 2019. The first eligible nationalities will be the Chinese (from February 15), the British (March 1), and the French (April 1). More countries will be added to the list over the coming weeks.

The online process will speed up the visa application process and mean that fewer people will have to visit an embassy to obtain a Thailand tourist visa.

To successfully apply for the Thailand visa, applicants will need to meet the basic visa requirements for Thailand. Applicants will need the following items:

  • A valid passport from one of the eligible countries.
  • A credit/debit card to pay the visa fee.
  • An email address to receive the Thai visa.

Once approved, the Thailand visa will be sent to the applicant to the email address provided on the application form.

When completing the online application, applicants will need to ensure they enter all the required information accurately. Any incorrect data or incomplete sections could lead to the application being delayed or rejected.

Necessary travel documents required to enter to Thailand

Before travelers arrive in Thailand they should make sure they have all the necessary documentation. It is necessary to present the following at the Thai border in order to enter:

  • A valid passport which is valid for the duration of your stay.
  • A visa for Thailand (unless you are eligible for visa-free entry).

At the moment, certain nationalities can obtain a Thai visa on arrival, others need to obtain one from an embassy or consulate, and some can enter visa-free for certain lengths of stay. The Thailand tourist visa will soon be an option for eligible nationalities.

Visa requirements by country: